Three-time F1 world champion Ayrton Senna won in Detroit for the third time in a row on August 19, 1988. Over the course of ten full seasons in the main category of motor sports, the Brazilian won in consecutive years in seven different tracks.

Check out the list of circuits where Senna won at least twice in a row.


The first out of six wins by the “King of Monaco” in the Principality took place in 1987, when Senna was still a Lotus driver. Starting in 1989, however, the Brazilian’s dominance on the streets of Monaco only became more and more evident. Senna won five times in a row at the track: in 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992 and 1993. To this day, Ayrton holds the record for most wins at the Principality.


Ayrton Senna won a total of five times in the US, and his three first triumphs took place in Detroit. In 1986 and 1987, the Brazilian driver won as a Lotus driver, while in 1988 he was behind the wheel of the legendary McLaren MP4/4, the car with which Senna would win his first world title.


Both of Senna’s wins in Phoenix, USA, took place in years that he also won the world title: 1990 and 1991. In the first one, the McLaren driver beat Jean Alesi in a heart-stopping duel. And, in 1991, winning the first race of the season was a good omen, since he went on to win the three following races. But he had to wait until the next-to-last race, in Japan, to clinch the world title.


Many people believe that Senna’s favorite track is either Monaco or Interlagos – well, not quite. Actually, the Brazilian was on the record saying that the Belgian circuit of Spa-Francorchamps was the place in which he liked the most to race.  Senna won there five times, four of them in a row: 1988, 1989, 1990 and 1991. It’s his second-longest winning streak at the same GP, only behind his five-victory one in Monaco.


To this day, Ayrton Senna is still the only driver who’s ever won three consecutive times in Germany. The Brazilian triumphed with McLaren in 1988, 1989 and 1990 at the Hockenheim circuit – best remembered by its long straights that cut through the German Black Forest. Even though the track still hosts F1 and other categories’ races, its length has been reduced.


Senna won three times in Hungary, always with McLaren. The three-time F1 world champion had his first triumph at Hungaroring in 1988, and afterwards won at the Hungarian track twice, on 1991 and 1992. The 1992 victory went down in history – he was able to defeat the “out-of-this-world” Williams driven by Nigel Mansell, who would go on to win the world title after that race.


Ayrton Senna made a habit of going fast at the San Marino GP, in Imola, setting the record for most poles at the track. Senna started in first place eight times, in total. The Brazilian also won there three times, scoring back-to-back victories in 1988 and 1989, besides a third win in 1991, the year when he became a three-time world champion.