The 2014 Formula 1 season starts this weekend in Australia, but back when Ayrton Senna was in the category, the country used to host the championship’s last race. The circuit was also different from the current one: instead of speeding through Albert Park’s streets, in Melbourne, Senna used race in Adelaide, also a street circuit.

It was at this very racetrack that the Brazilian pilot achieved his last and historic victory: in 1993, with McLaren, relegating his biggest rival, William’s Alain Prost, to second place. It was the French pilot’s farewell from F-1 – and Ayrton’s from McLaren, the team with which he conquered his three world titles.

This year, the biggest news in the world’s foremost auto racing category is the return of turbocharged engines, which also left their mark in the ‘80s – Ayrton Senna was the last driver to win a F-1 championship using this type of motor, in 1988, with McLaren-Honda .

The first practices for the Australian Grand Prix start on Thursday, March 13, at night. The qualifying sessions that will determine the grid take place on Saturday night, at 3 A.M., the same time the race starts on Sunday. The practice sessions will air on SporTV. Globo will broadcast both the qualifying session and the race.