Ayrton Senna became a three-time F1 world champion in 1991, at the Japanese GP. The race took place in October 20 of the same year, but Senna only received the official FIA trophy on December 6.

The ceremony took place in Paris, France, in front of 175 guests, and the trophy was given out by Jean Marie-Balestre, the FIA president at the time and a friend of Alain Prost’s.

Another Brazilian driver also received an award: Christian Fittipaldi was the Formula 3000 champion that season. On the same weekend, Ayrton was also elected the greatest Latin-American sportsperson by Associated Press, in a poll conducted among the news agency’s foreign correspondents.

In 1991, Ayrton won seven GPS, besides securing eight pole positions and 12 podium-finishes.

Check out our SennaTV special in honor of Senna’s third world title.